Post Grad: 1 Year After the Move

So it’s been a little over 1 year since I’ve moved from Austin to Dallas. Safe to say it was a learning process. A lot of mistakes, a lot of growth, and a lot of self revelations. Here’s a bit of what I’ve discovered.

Friendships are so important. When you move away from your family for the first time, your friends become another family. They’re your support group-the ones you live life with. I’ve never realized how important it was to surround yourself around good people, until I really had to. Although I’m living with family again, I still feel like having good friends around you offers so much more joy and fun in life.

That being said, at a certain point I’ve learned to recognize when a person is a good match for me, and when a person is not. You don’t have to force a friendship from a person you don’t actually want to become great friends with. I don’t think that’s a bad thing, because for every bad match, there is a much better person worth more of your time and efforts.

Pride is a drug and humility is maturity. I think I used to trick myself into believing that I was a humble person. Boy was I so wrong! I feel like it is accepted, even praised in the world to take pride in your talents, your accomplishments, even in your personality, likes, dislikes, etc. But all of that is a bunch of BS. Pride doesn’t show maturity, it shows immaturity. It shows that you only look to yourself to see how far you’ve come. But there’s so much more out there than just you.

There’s the opportunities you were blessed with, friends and family that guided you, and God that gave to you the skills and wisdom and chances that brought you to where you are today. The more we focus on the wonderful things beside ourselves, the better people we become.

The world will expect you to be a certain way. But that doesn’t mean you have to succumb to that. For example, I’m an introvert at heart. But I feel like more often than not, society tries to make you believe that being an extrovert is better. So that’s what I tried to be.

I fooled myself into thinking that I love being with people all the time. I tried to do something fun every single weekend. I tried to pack more and more things to do until I was exhausted. I ended up hiding away for maybe two weeks just so I could breathe again. It’s ok to be who you are. If you’d rather stay in and just chill on your own, that is completely fine. It’s important to know yourself and know your limits, not being swayed by what others think is cool or acceptable.

Just because you’re not there yet, doesn’t mean you won’t ever be. There’s something I heard recently that really blew my mind. Dreams don’t have an expiration date. Just let that sink in. Dreams don’t have an expiration date.

Sometimes I feel like if I don’t accomplish my dreams as soon as possible they won’t ever come true. But there is so much value in the learning process of life. There is so much worth in the in-between times. Because as you grow, and learn, and change it seeps into everything. Your gifts expand, your relationships flourish, everything just gets better. So it’s ok if you’re not “there” yet. Enjoy what’s happening right now.

Take the time to get to know people. Lately, I found that there is so much joy and excitement in getting to know people. Sometimes we spend time with the same people every day, passively. Never wanting to know more. But when you do get the chance to learn more, do it! Ask questions, tell stories, open yourself up. You’ll discover that there is so much more than what you had thought.

I feel like I’ve been so fed up with surface level relationships. I want to know more. What makes people tick, what make people laugh, what’s a person’s story? All you really have to do is take the chance to ask. Once you do it makes everything so much more worthwhile.

You’re not perfect and you never will be. Another thing I thought I wasn’t but turns out I am, a perfectionist. I didn’t realize it until if I’d make a mistake at work, or with a friend and then I’d be confronted by it. It really made me feel low, like I failed.

But it’s ok to make mistakes! How else would we get these self revelations? Take these chances to really learn and improve yourself. Your life isn’t over after you fail, it’s just a stepping stone onto bigger and greater things.

Rejection is a part of life. And it hurts like hell. But you can’t let a few rejections steal all of your joy. You can’t let the downfalls keep you from rising again. The more rejections I get, the more I’ve been seeing that God has a purpose for everything. So we just have to trust that this rejection, will detour you to the correct path you’re actually supposed to be on.

Not only in situations, but with people. No one is perfect. People can and will hurt you. But that doesn’t necessarily mean it’s all your fault. A friend can reject you, a loved one can reject you, a group of people can reject you. But that doesn’t mean it’s because you’re insignificant. These people all have problems and issues and hurts of their own, and that can trickle onto you. In those moments, it’s ok to let go. In fact it’s good- even better to turn away and decide to go elsewhere.

I’m still young. I’m 24 years old. I’m not 30, or 40, or 50. It’s ok to have fun. It’s ok to be on your own. In fact, it’s important to be ok on your own. I can be single. I can be with someone. I can go on adventures. I can stay at home. There is in fact always going to be hard times, tough seasons. But it’s all just the process of life. It’s all messed up and broken and beautiful. Things aren’t going to be wrapped up with a bow and tidied up all nice for you all the time. But from the beautiful mess, we can learn to love, learn to accept love, and keep powering through.

All of this may just be a bunch of bologna. But there’s a small snapshot of where I am in life right now. Hope you enjoyed reading. Until next time!

Leave a Reply

