Restless Time / Poetry by Sylvia Yoon Kim

1.

You can not write

For the sake of writing

And you can not breathe

To simply breathe

 

What we hold is deeper

More vibrant than

Subtle breaths

And sudden sighs

 

We hold eternity in our hands

Little mountain scapes

Floating in our palms

 

But we take a peek and smile

And let it fall like sand

Into forgotten realms

 

We must be forever seeking

Tirelessly

Until we can call ourselves

Creators

 

Conquerors

Of restlessness

 

 

2.

I feel my world melting around me

 

Starting from the corners

To the walls

To the paper

That gently fades from time

And weathering storms

 

And we know

As the melting continues

As we spin and laugh

With masks on

 

That it

Will melt

 

But in the brief pauses

We come to life

Sparks of laughter

And cherished memories

 

Until the room spins

And the walls melt

And the foundation cracks

And fizzles from time

Again

 

But in the brief pauses

Some of us

Choose

To laugh

 

 

3.

It is strange

 

There is something I miss

That I can not place

That I can not name

Nor find

 

But it is that which is lost

Which I miss

 

In the days when I felt

Deeply

And tears moved avalanches

In my soul

Once

 

The days that wilt

Into tiny photos

Of reminiscence

 

Nostalgia for the sake of nostalgia

Brokenness for the sake

Of being broken

 

Those were the days

When It

Was alive

 

And we were big

And thought big

 

While now we are small

Lost in the torrents of

The multiples

Living to multiply

 

But there is also beauty

In the smallness

The littleness of

Our contentment

 

And the steadiness

Of constant incompletion

Striving slowly for more

 

Striving slowly for nothing more

Than now

 

Unsteady hands

Self assured

Forgetting that

We are

And we are not

 

Limitless

 

 

4.

Arise o little ones

From your sleepy cages

We’ve come to indulge in

 

The sleep

Translucent

And blinding

And fierce

And invisible

 

Until flashes come

Of the brilliance

That lies beyond

Self configured control

 

Arise and awake

Beloved ones

 

Weak enough to speak

Strong enough to break

 

The time for sleep is finished

The time to breathe

Is now

 

 

5.

Speak

You restless time

Crawling on my back like a bug

 

Reminding me always

That I am changing

And I am the same

 

That time is immovable

And a constant ticking

In the depths of every thought

Which passes before you

Like a stranger

 

If you are to speak

Speak louder

Or do not speak at all

In my mind’s soul

 

Shouting

Portrait of progress

Displayer of mistakes

Tyrant of shoulds

And haves

And have nots

 

Silently

You slay my will

While defending

Where I have come from

 

Uncomfortable comfort

I long for all

And none of you

Leave a Reply

