Build Me / Poetry by Sylvia Yoon Kim

1.

We used to build mountains together

As I watched the thunder strike

Its way into rock and build

With piercing light

 

The wind was steady

Like a current touching

The tip of the air that hovered

Softly and warmly on me

 

But I saw the ends of you

Going back into the skies

Behind the dark curtains

Golden light you lived

 

While I waited again

I see the vision of kindness

Hold out its hand in beautiful

Patience in a single action named love

 

But it’s been a long time

Since I’ve taken that hand

Since I’ve walked up that mountain

I’ve forgotten

 

I’ve forgotten

The awe

The wonder in

Tasting the completeness of you

 

I’ve forgotten to bow

Be silent

Be still

And experience

 

Before the loud

Silent clangings of creation

Lost in the mazes I’ve surrounded

My heart

 

When it was first

Born into

Innocence

Pure and clear

 

I wish to hear the beating

Of glory

When things were simple

And I breathed in expectation

 

We used to build mountains

Together

 

2.

When did I wish to become a masterpiece

Perhaps before enlightenment struck

 

And the realization that for mud

To be unsullied

It first

Needed

To be washed

 

And ashes

And fire

And wind

And dirt

 

Needed to blend

And execute

And cleanse

The impurities

Of one

 

Who knew masters

Were once slaves

To themselves

 

Each piece of me

Wrapped with a hook

Of longing

Of lust

Of self glory

Self love

 

For you to pull

Pieces and tear

It all away

 

Until again I am bare

 

But different

You wait

 

For in each hook there is something new

Something left of you

 

Specks of gold

Swim in the well

You’ve molded

From traces in

Beginner earth

 

As it swirls

And whirls

You drop

You mix

 

Me clean

I am reborn

 

Stepping on two new feet

Upon something solid

I hear the building

The pounding

The nails

 

As a floor

And walls

And roof appear

Surrounding the infant

 

It yells

And cries

In desperation

 

As you feed

And feed

And feed

 

And it grows

With memories

And fondness towards you

To one day make contact

With the one who knows

 

You have mastered

The pieces

As you glued together

With clarity

And sewn without a stitch

 

I am yours

Leave a Reply

