The Created / Poetry by Sylvia Yoon Kim

1.

You and I

Were created

Divinely

 

As God struck his finger of light

In between our eyes

And we took breath

 

Beautifully

Fearfully

Wonderfully

 

If our God is a God of light

We are born of light

 

Although we so often

Perch our eyes on darker things

 

So God would expose our bare skin

To the dust that covered the earth

That we pushed in piles

 

Only that He could wipe off the blindness

So we could see

His light again

 

Beautifully

Fearfully

Wonderfully

 

Made in His image

His image is in us

 

As we bare

As we bare the pain

As we bare the light

As we bare the cross

 

And the heavens cry

And the heavens sing

 

For it is already done

 

Beautifully

Fearfully

Wonderfully

 

Made in light

Made in breath

 

Intertwined

And in raptures

For what is truly

Good

For what is truly

Great

Is our

Divinity

 

With the one

We recognize

In glimpses

Of human contact

Heavenly whispers

And love so pure

It breaks the biggest of sorrows

 

God we were never your mistake

Your heart does not point regretfully towards us

 

But you look at us with a smile

With a helping hand

Reaching out to us

Even in the times we turn away

 

God in the golden embers of our hearts

The ferocious tempest in our souls

The walls that prevent our minds from falling

Too

Far

Down

 

Beautifully

Fearfully

Wonderfully

 

God with us

God in us

 

We declare

We

Are

Yours

 

2.

When the mockers

Mock at my imperfection

 

When the strangers

Laugh at my pain

 

When the critics

Scream their attacks against me

 

God your love is louder

 

When the friends

Betray what once was trusted

 

When the family

Leave what once was theirs

 

When the impostors

Serve surreptitious vendettas

 

God your love is unending

 

When my mind

Flees into insanity

 

When my heart

BurdensΒ with insincerity

 

When my soul

Is crushed by the weight of life

 

God your love is steady

 

And when I reach the end of my time

And when I see that your love is just

And when I see that your grace was upon me

 

God I will be ready

For heaven to bring me home

 

 

Leave a Reply

