Post Grad: When Expectations Don’t Meet Reality

I’ve been going through a bit of post grad blues. Recently, I’ve been wondering if what I am doing now is what I want to be doing in the future and I honestly have no idea what the answer is yet…

If this were four years ago, and I was asked the question, “Where do you see yourself in five years?” I would have the exact answer ready to go. But now, if asked the same question, I am at a loss for words.

I’ve been working as a full-time journalist for the past severalΒ months, and I’ve been out of college for almost two years. Ever since High School I wanted to be one of those hard-core reporters. The ones who go into war zones and travel undercover into countries to find out the truth about global issues like genocide, human trafficking and political injustice. I had these grand dreams that I would be saving the world with my writing.

At the time I dreamed those dreams, I had yet to even experience a taste of the life of a reporter. Now, reporting on just local issues I can say that being a reporter is an arduous and overwhelming career. It’s full of lost weekends covering different events, and most evenings spent at City Council or School Board meetings. It’s also full of unending pressures to find enough stories, write those stories, and produce a paper worthy of readers every single week.

This job has filled my mind with endless worries, and more than once I’ve felt myself crack under the pressure of it all. Lately, I’m just wondering is this all worth it? Do I want to continue this for the next five years? Do I want my life to be this lack of consistency when it comes to work-life schedule? Do I want to be one of those people who will give up so much of their life for the latest story? Do I want to continue this lifestyle? Do I even enjoy this? Is work something we need to enjoy?

I know I’m still relatively new when it comes to work life. But this job has taken so much out of me, it’s got me questioning practically all of the career goals I once had. I’m just so tired every day. And then I think, imagine how tired I’ll be when I become a reporter who actually does write about global issues, has to go into war zones and investigate social injustice.

I still haven’t quite decided yet, whether I’ll be in this career for the long haul. Sometimes the future payoff does seem worth it. Other times, I feel like maybe I’m not built for this type of career and lifestyle.

But I think it’s also important to recognize that questioning, wondering and even considering switching careers is not entirely a bad thing. Maybe you get a taste of something and realize it’s not for you. Maybe you get the job you thought you wanted only to figure out that what you want now, is something else.

You are allowed to change your dreams in life. You are allowed to have more than one career. You are allowed to grow new passions and hopes for the future. Sometimes things aren’t what you expect, but that doesn’t mean you’re permanently attached to it forever. You have the power to change things.

So I still don’t know what all this means for my career. I have no idea where I’ll be in five years, let alone next year. But I know that through it all, God will guide me and provide for me exactly what I need. It’s the enduring, trusting and patience part that just requires work and real effort.

Hope you enjoyed my little heart-to-heart. Life is a bit of a struggle right now. But we can all get through it. Remember, with man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible. Thanks for reading! Until next time!

Leave a Reply

