Rest / Poetry by Sylvia Yoon Kim

1.

How great it is to tire

After a day of work

 

To lay my head

And find rest

 

As you sing your words

On the pages of my life

 

I say glorify

I pray glorify

 

You’ve built a house around my heart

 

My walls

My foundation

My cover of solace

 

Let’s walk once more

As you lead me

 

I find rest

 

 

2.

I stand in a sea of ruins

But you have not ruined me

 

I stand in the midst

Of crying bones

 

As heaven floods down

And the earth bleeds

 

But you keep me wrapped

In a protection of light

 

As eras pass in decay

You’ve kept me breathing

 

I can see the day

When the fresh green valley

 

Appears and the ruins

Disappear like a faint aftertaste

 

When the waters no longer drown us

But the morning dew offers rest

 

Until then

I will wait here

 

For these ruins

Testify of the battles

 

Where I slung the arrows and

You’ve led me to victory

 

Where you’ve brought me blind

Into the comfort of redeeming refuge

 

I will wait for these ruins

To be heaven’s kingdom again

Leave a Reply

