Standing / Poetry by Sylvia Yoon Kim

1.

My heart has lived in many houses

Houses filled with many rooms

 

It moved through as

Quickly as I did

 

Homes became houses

Houses became habitats

 

Now I stand alone

Or rather I sit

Or rather I lay

 

Here in my room

On my own

 

But I have the sun

To befriend in the morning

 

My work to be my heavy

Blessing in the afternoon

 

And the voice of God to

Soothe me to sleep at night

 

This burden is heavy

But the rest is heavy with

Lightness

 

I look around

I sing

I write

I sleep

I drive

I dream

I pray for more dreaming

 

More myself now

Age within youth

 

Rather than

Aged youth

 

Flashes of light

Tempered breathing

Scarred and scratched

Wooden floors

Emitting warmth still

 

Resilience comes from standing

Standing in the same room

 

2.

Love can be fearsome

 

Stepping onto the rock

To start an avalanche

 

Pouring and pouring it pours

Over you

 

I wish to receive an anointing

Of golden oil

 

Dip my hands and arms into the river

As it glides over in the tides of my heart beating

Beating

Beating

 

Inhaling spring

Stepping onto soft dirt

 

While the fire

Molten stirs beneath me

 

Humility

Is to see from below

 

From below onto

Higher grounds

 

Risking the avalanche

Over me

 

See how the sun shines through the blinds

Of my blindness

 

Hold onto me

Hold onto me

Before you fly away

 

Unending love

There is a sweetness in

The sound of your name

 

Peace comes in the stirring

Movements that keep me

Resolutely

Standing

Here

 

Context:
These poems were inspired by me living on my own and becoming independent for the very first time. Through the short journey so far I experienced a mix of freedom, fear, worry, peace, confidence and courage through it all. I’m actually quite prone to quitting things I start. So for me sticking with my new job and my new home was a challenging but really beneficial process. I feel like over the past few months I’ve grown up a lot and I’ve learned to be a harder worker andΒ stay standing in one single place.

I wasn’t sure if I wanted to post these two poems because I don’t think it shows my best writing skills but I like that they both marked a really special stage in my life so I decided to post them anyway. Hope you enjoyed it! Until next time!

One thought on “Standing / Poetry by Sylvia Yoon Kim

Leave a Reply

