Post Grad: Re-finding Your Passion

Once you land your dream job, you’d think that your passion for that job would rise. But for me, the exact opposite happened.

I’m a bit of an idealist. And by a bit-I mean I am totally and completely 100% of an idealist. While that can be a great thing in some areas, it is not as beneficial when it come to reality.

What I mean is, I had this fantastical idea of what it would be like once I became a journalist. I thought it would be amazing and wonderful. I thought every day would be a joyous adventure and that I would be changing the world in big, enormous ways. But all of that was a fantasy.

It turns out being a journalist is hard. It’s very hard and a lot of hard work. It is a lot of driving places, going to meetings, and encountering difficult people every now and again. Journalism is 20% writing, 80% everything else.

So I guess it was no surprise that a lot of my passion fell once I began my job. The ideal did not meet the reality. It’s been a challenge for me to regain a lot of the passion I once had for journalism and also for creative writing which I placed in the back of my mind for a long time now.

So here are some tips to remind myself and anyone who may be reading on how to re-find your passion for the things that you once loved.

1. Focus on the Good
Although there are many not so pleasurable sides of journalism, same in any job, it’s important to focus on the things you enjoy. Yes, I do get tired of having to sit through long City Hall and School Board meetings, but at the end of it all I still get to write. I love being able to sit down and write articles for a living. I love that I get to be creative in my job. I love that I get to spend my time talking to people, who 99% of the time are actually very nice.

2. Do not lose sight of your End Goal
Maybe some of my idealism is not completely far fetched. One day, I would like to change the world in big, enormous ways. But you have to be patient. You have to grow and gain the skills and abilities to one day make a bigger impact than right now. Life is a journey and everything is a process. Time and effort will be some of your biggest assets in life.

3. Still try to Improve yourself
Recently, I had written an article about a big news event that occurred. After I had written mine I read some more articles written by other journalists. And…their articles were way better than mine. But the good thing is, that wasn’t all that discouraging to me. Instead it was challenging. It showed me that I still have a long way to go and improve. If I continue trying, if I focus on being a better journalist, one day I too can reach that top level.

4. Find Inspiration
There is no excuse for writer’s block. Truly. All you have to do is read some T.S. Eliot. At least that’s what works for me. Inspiration is everywhere. One just needs the motivation to find it. Go travelling, go for a walk, be in nature, have a long conversation with a friend, spend time with family, rewatch your favorite film, try out a new recipe. The list is endless. Inspiration is everywhere. We just need to train ourselves to go out and find it.

5. Be Grateful
In life, it is so easy to complain. Complaining is like a comfort zone for me. I can be quite a pessimist sometimes. I’ll pick out all the bad things in my job and stress over all of it. But instead of complaining, if we pray for God to make our hearts grateful He will answer. Being grateful takes more careful consideration than complaining, but the benefits of a grateful heart far surpasses anything that comes from complaining.

Thanks for reading! Until next time!

Leave a Reply

