Learning to Trust

A lot has happened in the past few weeks. In my previous blog post, I talked about moving to a new city, starting a new job and living on my own for the very first time.

It was definitely a hard adjustment. Starting a new job and not feeling confident at all while being overwhelmed with everything took its toll on me. But over the past month living in Dallas (three and a half weeks to be exact), I feel like things have gotten so so so much better.

I feel more comfortable with my work and have grown in confidence that I am able to do this job. I’ve also reconnected with many old friends in the area which has just been a huge joy and blessing.

But I think the biggest thing that has lifted this weight of fear and worries off of me is God.

At the start of my job I felt such a lack of confidence in my own abilities. I was so tired and exhausted from having to do so many things in one given day. I was also constantly worried that I wouldn’t meet my deadline each week. It all made me feel sad and heavy. I longed for the comfort of easier times.

But as God pulled me close to him again, as he always does, I felt like he was telling me to trust in him. That I had nothing to fear when I was with him. That he is the God who keeps his promises and never leaves your side. God is truly in control. Not just in the times when I’m going to church or at home, but in my workplace as well.

The Certainty of God’s Promise, Hebrews 6:13-20

13 For when God made a promise to Abraham, since he had no one greater by whom to swear, he swore by himself, 14 saying, “Surely I will bless you and multiply you.” 15 And thus Abraham, having patiently waited, obtained the promise. 16 For people swear by something greater than themselves, and in all their disputes an oath is final for confirmation. 17 So when God desired to show more convincingly to the heirs of the promise the unchangeable character of his purpose, he guaranteed it with an oath, 18 so that by two unchangeable things, in which it is impossible for God to lie, we who have fled for refuge might have strong encouragement to hold fast to the hope set before us. 19 We have this as a sure and steadfast anchor of the soul, a hope that enters into the inner place behind the curtain, 20 where Jesus has gone as a forerunner on our behalf, having become a high priest forever after the order of Melchizedek.

In everything we can trust that God will keep his promises because of who God is. God is our strength in times of weakness, he is our biggest supporter in the workplace, and he puts people in our lives to be a blessing for us or so that we can be a blessing to them.

God has also been teaching me to be humble. It’s important to remember that in times of achievement and growth it is not from our own doing. It’s not because of whatever little talent I have that I got this job. It’s because of God’s divine plan for my life. And whatever talent I may have, that was also a gift from God.

The moment I put all of my trust and credit in God for my job, my relationships and my finances is the moment when I truly feel free. I can have peace. I can have joy.

When we depend on ourselves for everything and make our own self our God everything is worrisome. Because we are imperfect creatures and we are not capable of satisfying our every need. But only God’s love, plan and provision can be trusted in with full conviction. Because our God is a God who is great and grand and worthy of everything.

It can be so easy to fall into the trap of depending on yourself. I didn’t even realize I had done that with my job until today. But God’s grace meets us in our shortfalls. He’s always waiting to take the lead. What a relief!

Thanks for reading! Sorry I haven’t been posting much lately. This new job has kind of taken over so much of my life. But I do miss writing on this blog. It’s the one place I feel I can be completely myself in my writing. Anyways, until next time!

2 thoughts on “Learning to Trust

Leave a Reply

