April Favorites

It has been so long since I’ve talked about my monthly favorites. Thankfully, I’ve loved so many things in April I’d like to share it all with you.

Music

I have been obsessed with Sia’s music lately. I love how raw her voice is and how emotionally powerful her music is as well. You can just tell that she’s been through hell and back when she sings. I especially love her songs Alive, Bird Set Free, and Cheap Thrills (the original version without Sean Paul). Those three songs I can listen to over and over again. I especially love the dance choreography to Cheap Thrills. It’s rare to find an artist who can really move you but still offer a catchy and great song. Sia delivers all of thatย and more!

beyonce.lemonade

You’ve probably heard this 10 times already, but Beyoncรฉ’sย new album Lemonade was absolutely spectacular. She truly achieved an entirely new art form, blending visuals with music and dance. Lemonade was a work of art filled with symbolism and poetic heartache. Whether you are a fan or not, I highly recommend watching the entire album!

It’s hard for me to find Christian music I can listen to without it dripping with cliches and basic sounds and rhythm. But I was so impressed with Lauren Daigle. I find her voice to be so powerful and pleasant to listen to. I sang a cover of one of her songs if you’d like to check that out. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Now for some song recommendations. I discovered two artists on YouTube recently and have been listening to their songs on repeat! The first is Andra Day and her song Rise Up. Her voice is a mixture of Amy Winehouse and Alicia Keys.

I also love a song called Crush by Yuna ft. Usher. This song feels so 90’s mellow to me. It’s a very sweet and light listen.

Movies

The_33_(film)_poster

One of my favorite movies I watched in April was called The 33. It is based on the true event of 33 Chilean miners trapped underground during 2010. I found this movie to be so inspiring and deeply representing the power of hope and the human spirit. I also thought the acting was great and the dynamics between the miners, their families, and the government workers very interesting. Definitely worth a watch!

NvHyDLUwOlFGaXYidabJzhmiqi

The movie Spotlight blew my mind! You may have heard of it in the past Oscars, where it won best film and I sincerely believe that it deserves that title. The movie is about a group of investigative journalists that work for The Boston Globe. They discover a shocking amount of sexual abuse done by members of the Catholic Church to children. The movie follows their journey to discover the entire truth. Definitely an intense film filled with great acting and a shocking true story.

Books

15507958

I am nearly finished reading Me Before You by Jojo Moyes and am in love with it completely. I don’t usually go for the romantic and cozy type of book. I am more of the psychological thriller type. But this novel is so endearing and the characters are so lovable I can’t put it down! It’s one of those stories that you can’t wait to finish and yet at the same time you want to savor each page because you don’t want it to end! The story focuses on the characters Louisa who becomes a caregiver for a paraplegic man named Will. I don’t want to give too much away other than that, so you’ll just have to read it because I feel like it is a book everyone will love.

Fashion

4312104105_1_1_1

April was my birthday month when I received this wonderful crossbody bag from Zara. I love getting bags from Zara because you know the quality is great and will last you a long time. This light brown bag which matches with almost everything is the perfect size for your necessities and is also light weight which is a must for me. Basically, it fit all of my requirements!

IMG_20160422_185926.jpg

I recently bought a bunch of clothes for Spring, but I think I’d like to save it for a future haul post or Spring Style Lookbook. However, I have been wearing the same striped T-Shirt from H&M and layered necklace from Forever 21 combo a lot lately. If you’re like me you find an outfit you love and wear it almost every day!

Beauty

542852

I’m not one to fuss about my hair that much but the difference I have felt after using Caviar CC Cream is undeniable. After towel drying your hair you put a small amount on your palm and rub it throughout your hair. Once it dries, your hair instantly feels smoother and over time my hair has gotten so much shinier!

Activity

IMG_20160501_172503IMG_20160501_172920

As Spring arrives I love getting outdoors more. Recently, my friend and I went kayaking on the river in Austin and we had a blast. Honestly, I just wanted to add these pics because they make me happy looking at them. ^_^

I hope you enjoyed reading up on some of my favorite things! Until next time!

 

Leave a Reply

