Top 5 Favorite Workouts

I find that the key to motivation is to add variety to your workouts. Going to the gym every day can feel bland, repetitive, and boring. By trying out a new form of exercise each day you can finally get excited for your upcoming sweat session. These workouts can be done at home or around your neighborhood, perfect for the days when driving to the gym feels like too much of an effort.

1. Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred

hqdefault

I have never sweat so much in my life until I tried the Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred. This is an intense workout which mixes cardio, strength training, and ab work for about 30 minutes. Michaels’ videos is one of my new favorites because it offers the fantastic combination of weight loss and toning throughout your entire body. I like that she uses many old school yet effective moves like squats, sit-ups, and jumping jacks. Beware, it may seem like a simple workout at first but by the end of the workout your muscles will be burning and your heart still racing. The results spoke for itself. After just a few days of trying out level 1, I found that my legs were much more toned and my tummy flattening.

2. Blogilates 

home-exercise06

Cassey Ho runs the famous YouTube page Blogilates with over 2 million subscribers. Her mega fan following is well deserved for her workout videos, each training a specific part or area of your body. Many different people have recommended Blogilates to me me over the years and after trying it out, I regretted not starting sooner. From 5 Minute Abs, 30 Day Thigh Slimming Challenge, to her highly viewed Call Me Maybe Squat Challenge, I love the endless selection of choices you can use for your workout done right in the comfort of your own room. Most of the time, all the equipment you’ll ever need is a yoga mat which is a great bonus. I’ve never done pilates before, but Ho’s version of Pop Pilates in combination with her ceaseless energy and motivational words turned me into a true fan.

3. Zumba

ZumbaCharity-595

I absolutely adore Zumba. If you haven’t heard of it already, Zumba is a dance workout which uses latin style dances like Salsa and incorporates it with cardio moves for a jam-packed fun time. If you’re too afraid to shake your stuff in a Zumba class full of strangers there are loads of Zumba videos-even entire classes on YouTube. Feel free to dance without inhibitions as you sweat away some serious pounds. Zumba is a high-energy workout so make sure to put your all into the moves to get the most out of your workout.

4. Running

mec-spring-_u4a3495-running

Running for me has always been the quickest way to lose weight. It’s the ultimate fat burner and cardio trainer. What I love so much about running, other than the runner’s high, is that it is a very visual exercise. I can see my goals before me and watch them get accomplished as they fade into the distance. Running is also a mental exercise, employing your will power to the maximum extent. Running gives you the chance to push yourself in distance, speed, and endurance which I find incredibly satisfying yet challenging. If you do choose to go for a run, or even a steady jog (there’s no shame in that!), make sure to run outdoors. Running outside is the best remedy for a gloomy mood. You get to feel the fresh air, and the sunlight gives you your daily dose of Vitamin D.

5. Swimming 

Woman swimming in a pool

Now that spring has come and bikini season is dreadfully arriving, I thought I’d take to the water early. Swimming is fantastic exercise for your entire body. The added resistance of the water works your muscles and helps increase the fat burn. It also decreases the risk of injury, making it much safer on your body than other forms of exercise. I love swimming laps. Even though I’m not the best at it I find it so refreshing. I truly feel like I’ve had a great workout after swimming.

Those are my top five favorite workouts at the moment. I hope it gave you a bit of inspiration to try something new this week. Feel free to comment below if you’d like to recommend some of your favorite workouts.

 

One thought on “Top 5 Favorite Workouts

Leave a Reply

